If Only I Would Listen

keep-christ-animbigDear Friends for Life:   It is Christmas every time you let God love others through you… yes, it is Christmas every time you smile at your brother and offer him your hand.   -(Mother Teresa)

As I sip on my cup of coffee this morning, I picture in my mind and contemplate on the Incarnation. Instead of adoring the infant Jesus, I try to imagine that the adult Jesus has stopped by for a cup of Starbuck coffee a few days away before His birthday.

images-1(1)Just the thought of this happening: What would I say? What would He ask me?  How would I respond?  Could I hear what He had to say to me? The challenging as well as the consoling?

Would He ask me about my Christian Life? “And what about His hunger, cold, chains, nakedness and sickness?” What about His homelessness? His refugees? His HIV/AIDS patients? His sex workers? His Homosexuals? His transgenders? Would He mention abortions, euthanasia, the death penalty? Are these sufferings not sufficient to overcome your alienation?” comes the voice of the insightful preacher, St. John Chrysostom. Can I be attentive to the suffering of the mentally ill woman across from me in the ER waiting room?  Or do I look away, pretend I don’t hear her?

images(3)In short, would I have the courage to listen, rather than speak? Not falling down on my knees in adoration, but instead turn down the Christmas music, pick up my cup and listen to the Word speak about HIS tormented people. He has all the solutions if only I would not talk but just listen.

It is my prayer this Christmas that Christ will bless us, make us perfect and holy. May he instruct us with the word of truth, inspire us with the gospel of salvation, and enrich us with his love as we reach out to His suffering world.

 

God Bless
Jerry Novotny, OMI

****************************************

(The Difference is LIFE)  For a child is born to us, a son is given to us;
                                                     upon his shoulder dominion rests.
                                                     They name him Wonder-Counselor, God-Hero,
                                                     Father-Forever, Prince of Peace.
– (Is. 9:5)

****************************************

Websites by Fr. Jerry

LifeIssues.net

Fr. Jerry’s Blog  (in English)

Japan-lifeissues.net (in Japanese)

Fr. Jerry’s Blog  (in Japanese)

Leave a Reply

